Doing Good is Actually the Best

DGIGB Intern

alyssa

“I look forward to doing business with you,” is a commonly exchanged phrase in the professional world, but what about “I look forward to doing some good with you?” The power of cause marketing is often underestimated when it comes to business development or when seeking a career.

Prior to my summer internship with Capture Marketing, I had never really learned the importance of cause marketing. Through my courses, I learned how to write press releases and media advisories, how to properly conduct an unbiased survey, and which keywords best attract my target audience on social. Although these are all important skills within my desired career field, I’m coming to learn that it’s not only important to love the work that I do, but it will be even better to have a career that fulfills a deeply rooted philanthropic need.

Print

I’m not alone in this thinking either. In a 2016 study done by Cones Communication, research found that 74% of employees stated that their job is more fulfilling when they’re provided opportunities to make a positive impact through work. I also found this to be true through the experience and knowledge I gained from my summer internship with Capture Marketing, especially since the idea that resonated with me the most from the company is that Doing Good is Good Business™. Doing Good is Good Business™ (DBIGB), a phrase coined by Capture Marketing, simplifies the need for a beneficial cause marketing strategy for all businesses.

During my internship, I was able to assist the Capture team in preparing materials for various clients and foundations, including the Milwaukee Bucks and JJ Watt Foundation. Seeing prominent sports figures, such as Jabari Parker and JJ Watt, expressing their gratitude for the communities that support them and their teams speaks volumes to fans and inspires other athletes and celebrities to use their talents as a way to give back. These foundations bring light to causes that may not have otherwise been seen or helped, which just goes to show that doing a little good can go a long way.

Not only does cause marketing attract and satisfy employees’ philanthropic needs, it’s also important for consumers when selecting products and services. A study done by Cone Communication and Echo Research discovered that 94% of consumers think that businesses should be doing more than just making money and that 47% of consumers are more likely to be loyal to brands that supports environmental and social issues. The study further found that after seeing brands participate in charitable causes, 53% of consumers are more likely to recommend those companies or brands to other people. In the long run, it can actually pay to be charitable.

Even though my summer internship was short, the experience I gained from the women I’ve worked with and the work that I have done is absolutely invaluable. Not only have I learned new skills to carry with me through my final year of college and post-graduation into the work-world, but this summer internship has sparked a deep interest in being a part of a company that has perfected the balance of being a great business as well as a great asset to community betterment. It’s nice to enjoy the career that you’re in, but it’s so much more satisfying to know that your work is helping others.

#DGIGB Alyssa

Capture Marketing is a public relations and events agency experienced in developing creative solutions on behalf of corporations, foundations, professional athletes and other celebrities. We believe that Doing Good is Good Business™ (DGIGB) and partner with our clients to advance their cause marketing initiatives.

